Peachy King, Tiny Jelly Bean – Peach Avocado Smoothie

My daughter Emery is 10 months old. She is my second baby. Ainsley, my oldest, is 4. When Ainsley was Emery’s age, I threw myself into making homemade, organic baby food. Seriously. I could have fed 10 babies for the amount of tasty, organic, baby friendly concoctions I made for sweet baby Ainsley. Ainsley was happy…she’d eat anything. No fuss, no muss.

Fast forward to today. My desire to create tasty baby treats has waned…and I have embraced jarred baby food. I was proud of my open mind. Look at all the flavors and meals! And it only takes 2 seconds to open up the jar…score! Emery wanted no part of this crazy idea! She had already tasted some of my initial homemade baby food efforts right off the bat and nothing. else. will. do. Oh crap. She takes after me rather than her laid back father.

So, under her watchful eye, I slowly put back the jarred baby food and picked up my hand blender. She’d won this round, but next time….who am I kidding? Her will is stronger than mine! Luckily we both enjoy this peach avocado smoothie enough to call a truce.

Peach Avocado Smoothie

1 cup frozen peach slices

1/2 Avocado

1/2 cup plain full fat Greek yogurt (I prefer Fage)

Place the peaches, avocado and yogurt into a glass and blend with a hand blender until smooth. Using a regular blender works too. Spoon feed this yummy goodness to baby or put into a glass and slurp to your heart’s content. If the consistency is too thick for your taste thin with water. Enjoy!

20130306-190608.jpg

20130306-190623.jpg

Tell me what you think...