Scones and Snowstorms

Last night a snowstorm had us in her sights. Rather than tough out what would’ve been a nasty rush hour home I left work a bit early. With my unexpected hour at home I was inspired to bake. I stopped at the store to get some potatoes for the homemade gnocchi I was planning which led me inevitably to the vodka aisle….of course. Potatoes, vodka…what else? Butter! Confident in my now well stocked pantry I headed home. 60 whole extra minutes to my day! I spent it making gnocchi and blueberry maple scones. My gnocchi turned out blah. So lets not talk about them. But my scones! Holy Moses were they good. I was inspired by this recipe from Joy The Baker. I didn’t have buttermilk (so much for my well stocked pantry) so I used 2% milk. I thought it still worked very well. It was the perfect compliment to my after dinner coffee curled up next to the fire.

20130306-114422.jpg

Tell me what you think...